It Affects Everything

In a book by Graham Cooke he says, “What you think about God is the most important thing in the world.” True, because out of that belief you will live your life. If you think God is disinterested, then you won’t worry about trying to please Him. If, in your opinion, He is easily angered, you may live in constant fear of crossing Him. If you don’t believe God exists, then your decisions in life will reflect that. Whatever you believe about Him, it affects the way you live.

What we believe (whether about God or anything else) has been shaped over the course of our lives. Our beliefs are also shaped by what we read in the Bible. Beliefs can be incorrect, even beliefs from the Bible if we are not careful to ask God to keep us from being slanted in what we see because of our own grid.

I am reading a fiction book in which the main character sees everything and everyone through his own prejudice. He, of course, has no idea that his beliefs are affecting his view of the world. As I read and observe the impact this is having on him and others, I just want to shake him and wake him up! It’s ruining him and he doesn’t even know it.

I imagine that God is passionate like that about you and me when He sees us live incorrectly because of distorted beliefs about Him. Is it possible that a wrong view of God in some aspect is having a negative impact on me? God has made it very apparent in His Word that He wants me to know the truth about Him so I can live life as He intended — in freedom (John 8:32), and with joy (1 Peter 1:8), among other things. Just this morning He revealed wrong thinking in me and corrected it — what joy! Let Psalm 139:23-24 be your prayer: “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

