Hold On to the Promises

2013 was a banner year for me. God did a healing that I had long awaited. The years were full of desperate prayers knowing that God could answer me with wholeness. For a long time He didn’t.

In Hebrews 6:12 Paul admonishes his disciples to be “imitators of those who through faith and patience inherit the promises”. He then goes on to talk about Abraham who waited a very long time for God’s promise to him to be fulfilled. God is a promise keeper — but on His timetable, not ours. The verse tells us that we must believe God will do what He says and we must patiently wait for it. Patiently waiting means that we go about living as God’s children knowing that He will give us everything He has promised us in His perfect timing.

My shoulder has caused some pretty significant pain for me in the last several months. I have asked Father God to heal it and others have asked Him for healing on my behalf. I have been to the doctor and done exercises. The shoulder still hurts. Psalm 103 tells me that God heals all my diseases, and so I know He will do it because it’s a promise. Do I know when? I don’t have a clue! Do I know how? No. What I do know, though, is that He loves me and is working out His plan in every aspect of my life, painful shoulder included. I will keep asking for His healing now (unless He tells me not to, like He did with Paul). I will keep believing and keep living every day in the joyful knowledge that I am a child of the King. He has me in His hands and is working everything for my good.

Hold on to God’s promises. Be patient and trust Him. He will not fail you.

This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

