God – The Great Killjoy?

Recently, I knew of a man who was becoming increasingly desperate for God, but he was afraid that if he surrendered his life that God would ask him to give up some things, and so he held out for a while.  Obviously, these were things that he thought might be a problem to God, but he liked them.

Why is it that we often believe that God is a killjoy rather than a joy giver?  Read these words of Jesus:  “Just as the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you; abide in My love.  If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love.  These things I have spoken to you that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full” (John 15:9-11).  Does Jesus say to do what He says to do because it’s good for me, even though I will be miserable?  No!  He says that He wants me to do His bidding because His instruction is His love to lead me to joy.  He is a joy giver, not a killjoy.

When God shows me that He wants me to change something or give up something it’s because He wants to lead me to joy.  He is a loving God with only the best intentions for me and you.  We are the ones upon whom He has set His love, and that is a good thing.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

