The Human Being

Last summer my husband and I had the privilege of visiting the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago. While there we walked through a display of thin cross-sections of human cadavers encased in glass. What I found is that our human insides do not look anything like the pictures you find in your science book at school. The pictures in the book are all neat, and the various parts seem quite distinct and easy to identify. But in the real cross-sections I viewed, you could certainly identify parts that were pointed out to you, but it wasn’t all neat and clean like the pictures; it was squishy looking and everything was meshed together (no pretty colors even!).

My first realization was that the human body is nothing like the things man creates. The inside of a body appears more base, in a sense, than human creations and yet it is incredibly complex and thoroughly functional. And that was my second realization – that the creation of God is way beyond anything man can do. To think that all of the various functions of the human body, this conglomeration of mushy stuff, not only does amazing things (the how of which often eludes us) but even has the ability to address problems and deficiencies in its functioning makes me realize how big my God is and how very small I am.

And as if the awe of the “machine” of the body weren’t enough, there is more. Humans think, feel, and are much more than a well-oiled machine. The “differentness” of mankind from other living things becomes very apparent when someone dies. When we look at a body in a coffin, the absence of life makes a person not look like the one we knew, and the reality that humans are more than a body is right in front of us. I have been at the bedside of people who have died, and the minute the soul leaves that body you know; they don’t look like they are sleeping, instead they look like something different than they were a moment before.

In Psalm 139 we are told that we are fearfully and wonderfully made. Yes, indeed.

My thoughts immediately turn to the why of God’s actions. Why would He make such an incredible creation as us, making sure that we have what we need to live? And when we chose to become our own god and call the shots, ruining our relationship with Him, why did He send His son to redeem us? For some reason, we are very valuable to Him. I don’t know about you, but I want to know this God better. I see the work of His hands, I see the provisions He has made, I see His incredible sacrifice poured out on my behalf, and I long to know this God, my God.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

