Time Management?

Recently I went through a spell of not making time at God’s feet my priority (time learning from Him by reading His Word, the Bible, and interacting with Him about it in prayer). I was busy doing all kinds of things, but I felt weary and out of sorts; my soul was not being fed and I felt the drought. Just like the body will become parched without water, so your soul will become dry without the refreshing of what gives it life — God and His truths (See Matthew 6:31-33).

I am a stay-at-home wife. One would think that time with God would be easy to implement. But anyone who has stayed at home and tended well to their tasks knows that the work is endless. Tending a household can just as easily consume all of one’s time the same as any demanding job might do. And what my soul needs will not be found in my job, whatever it is. My soul has one food, and it is God.

But, you say, I can’t possibly get in all I have to do each day if I take time out for God. Whether or not you realize it, what you believe is that you must take charge of time in order to take care of your needs. With that, however, you will find that you become worn out and tired (in other words, you are not getting all that you truly need). God says that He alone has what you need and that He will provide that to you as you seek His counsel. So the difference is that rather than you being the one in charge and trying to make everything work, you surrender that to His control and trust Him to lead you in your work and trust that as He promises, He will provide for all that you need.

Jesus says, “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.” Don’t try to manage your time better, but give some of that time to God to learn what He says matters, and then ask for His strength to do it. You will then find that the very thing you’ve been wearying yourself to get is now yours, but without the weariness.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Management?

  1. Larry Hutson says:

    Great post! Reminds me of Martin Luther’s quote: “I have so much to do today that I’m going to need to spend three hours in prayer in order to be able to get it all done.”

  2. Gina Fee says:

    Love this! I think we all go through this!

Leave a Reply

